staying with the theme of the “fear”…

“I want to be rich and I want lots of money
I don’t care about clever I don’t care about funny
I want loads of clothes and fuckloads of diamonds
I heard people die while they are trying to find them

I’ll take my clothes off and it will be shameless
‘Cuz everyone knows that’s how you get famous
I’ll look at the sun and I’ll look in the mirror
I’m on the right track yeah I’m on to a winner”

 

 

The world can rejoice again! Why, you ask? Well, that’s because with a new year we have the imminent return to our cd players, iPods and hearts of one Lily Allen. The first single taken from her sophomore record, It’s Not Me, It’s You entitled The Fear has made its way to Youtube and her MySpace.  If you, like me, fell in love with her first record, Alright, Still, which featured the singles Smile and my personal favourite, LDN,  you will notice immediately the ska influence that dominated in those singles has been replaced by a very sleek electronic pop sheen. Does this make The Fear any less of a pop gem? I think not! Say what you will about Lily judging from what’s written about her in the UK rags but the girl does know her way around a melody and her lyrics are indescribably more clever than she’s given credit for as evidenced by the first verse posted above. 

After seeing success the first time out and discovering the perils that go along with being a young, pretty recording artist with a taste for the drink,  The Fear, has Lily telling us about the fatalities of fame and all that goes with it. Take an Alice In Wonderland-ish video (which reportedly only cost 50,000 pounds to make) and a pop-tastic sound and you’ve got yourself a lead-off single to one of the more highly anticipated records of the year.

2 Comments

  1. Loving the new Lily Allen tracks. Electro seems to fit her quite well, methinks.

    • couldn’t agree more, yuri. “everyone’s at it” which was slated to be the first single but pulled for undisclosed reasons just might be even better. i’m really looking forward to the record.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

