dream on, dream brother…

“I, I, I will battle for the sun, sun, sun, sun.

Cause I, I, I, have stared down the barrel of a gun, gun, gun, gun, gun, gun, gun.
No fun, you, you, you, you, you are a cheap and nasty fake, fake, fake, fake, fake, fake, fake.
And I, I, I, I, I am the bones you couldnt break, break, break, break, break, break, break, break!”

It’s always a pleasure when one of your favourite bands is preparing to make a long awaited return. The Pet Shop Boys have been graced with many a post here thus far but there is another band whose influence and oeuvre deserves a ton of respect as well. That band is Placebo. Goth? Bowie copy-cats? Glam revivalists? Gang of poofs? Take your pick but what is without debate is the fact they’ve released some of the best music around the last fifteen years and have remained somewhat under the radar here in the States aside from a sliver of shine with Pure Morning and Every You Every Me taken from Without You I’m Nothing.  Since then, the band has released solid record after solid record that not surprisingly failed to connect with American audiences outside of the fringe contingent. Their loss, I say! 

So here we are with a new Placebo record entitled Battle For The Sun which is to be released in the UK 8 June via PIAS with a US date unknown at this point. The band has made the title track available for download via their website at Placebo World. I also happen to have it ready for streaming below. With new drummer Steve Forrest in tow, BFTS appears to continue the fine tradition of the dark forebording rock that burns slow Placebo is known for. Think the title track from Without You I’m Nothing after it’s been dragged through a hundred miles of hard road and you’ve got Battle For The Sun. 

“Battle For The Sun”, taken from the forthcoming PIAS record, “Battle For The Sun”


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

