identity theft?

 

“That party last night was awfully crazy I wish we taped it

I danced my ass off and had this one girl completely naked
Drink my beer and smoke my weed but my good friends is all I need
Pass out at 3, wake up at 10, go out to eat then do it again
Man, I love college”

 

So…when Eminem woke up one fine morning and turns on the tube, I wonder what his reaction was when he saw Asher Roth completely aping his rhyme style and The Slim Shady LP-era irreverence. Did he give himself a facepalm? Did he place a call to Jimmy Iovine or Dr. Dre firing off a slew of expletives with the words “copyright infringement” buried somewhere in the maelstrom of frustration? It’s these things that make you go….hmmm. What sucks for Em is pretty funny for the rest of us. I really tried to resist featuring  Asher as I figured everyone else would so what would be the point but it must be said that the song is pretty hilarious and for those of us who went away to school, you can chuckle to yourself as you think back to some fond or maybe not so fond memories of dorm life. 

I mean, you have to give a guy credit who’s able to namedrop Allen Iverson and Hakeem Olajuwon while boasting about his beer-pong proficiency.  His debut record Asleep In The Bread Aisle is out now and I’m sure it will sell among the multitudes of mallrats, thug-lites, and Eminem wannabes who finally realised they’re just not hard enough and will settle for the next best thing but right now I admit it’s a bit of a guilty pleasure. So enjoy this temporary lapse in judgment while it lasts, kids.

By the way, how funny is it that Amazon has Asher Roth and Eminem together as a bundle option? These things make me chuckle.

5 Comments

  1. Stop hatin’ on PA! 😉

  2. although their pitch and delivery is similar, lyrically and flow-wise they are completely different.

    • So says the Eminem fanatic with posters enveloping her room… 😛

      Billy.

      • shut up.

        and i don’t have the posters anymore so there!

        • Lies. All Lies…

          Billy.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

