esser’s got me in a headlock…

“Stamp me in the carpet like a piece of dirt,

If the words fail then you just floor me,
I’ve got a problem, it’s called living,
When will I learn that you’re no good for me.”

 

He looks like the son of Morrissey but stylistically reminds me more of a young Robbie Williams, Ben Esser certainly has that going for him. Throw in a solid single like Headlock above and we’ve got a pop star in the making. I’ve been playing the single for the last week to anyone who would listen and was quite pleased at the reaction it got. The key to this song lies in the delivery. The lyrics are sung effortlessly almost as if he couldn’t be bothered to finish or show any genuine emotion but therein lies the charm and what he and someone like Robbie Williams share in common. The quintessential Englishness, the stiff upper lip if you will that lends itself to some great sounding pop music.

The debut record Braveface is out 5 May on Transgressive in the UK and judging by Headlock, it definitely sounds promising. Check it…NOW!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

